“Covers”

NaNoWriMo is next month, and people are gearing up for their month-long sprint to a novel. Side note – if you’re  not familiar with what NaNoWriMo is, click the link : http://nanowrimo.org/ . I’ve done it a couple times so I listen in on certain channels that involve NaNoWriMo, and lately I’ve seen people preparing to write their novel by selecting / creating covers for their novels. Which they have yet to write.

I can hear it already – someone out there is gonna be all “hey man, don’t be a douche, it could be a source of inspiration.” Sure, I get a lot of ideas from music, which isn’t all that dissimilar from getting inspiration from a picture. A lot of art in general is inspired by / inspiration for other art. I realize this. It’s not a new idea.

My issue is that it’s the same thing as “talking about writing” instead of doing actual writing. The meat of any art / craft requires motivation and dedication. More to the point, writing a novel takes more than finding a neat picture and going “I’m gonna write about this picture,” because the whole “writing” part of that sentence is the important thing that needs to happen.

Don’t think I’m implying that these folks can’t do it, or that they are in any way failures. My concern here is that people are confusing internet surfing, photoshopping, or scrapbooking with writing. Sure, maybe they’re psyching themselves up or something, or some people just need to start with something visual, and I wish that was the first impression I got from the posts I’ve seen… but it wasn’t.

Also, the irony of blogging about “not writing” is not lost on me. I’ve said before that I consider blogging to be “writing about writing,” which is partly why I don’t do it very often.

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Art, Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Covers”

  1. Actually, this is a touch scary. Unless you self publish or have total creative control over your work (in which case you’re NOT doing NanoWrimo, you’re sipping Martinis poolside at your estate telling someone else what to write) you won’t have much control over a cover. So it does sorta suggest people might be prepping to barf up some text, slap a cover on it, and further dilute the self-pub market.

    • benjamininn says:

      I don’t think I realized the gravity of this until your comment. The scary part for me is that people will do their 50k word NaNoWriMo novel and publish it in December, “just in time for Christmas,” without editing and most importantly, without outside critique.

Howl

