Yay. Fireworks.

Time goes forward every damn day and people don’t shoot fireworks to celebrate it, why the hell is a new year so special? Oh, because we like to put things into compartments. It’s ok, that’s kinda one of the reasons we have a brain.

 

No, not fireworks, damnit, the other stuff. Ok the fireworks too. Gah! You people are impossible!

INTERMISSION. This is where I get naked and dance to Web of Deceit. Yep, that just happened. Doesn’t translate into text very well, and if you don’t believe that it actually happened, then come on over and get naked with me. Yes I just said that.

 

Anyhow, resolutions. I’d like to go on file and say they’re dumb. If you wanna do something, do it. Don’t wait for some arbitrary beginning or end, just get off your ass and make it happen. In essence this is what writing is about – not SAYING you’re gonna write, but WRITING. Simple concept, I know, but recently I’ve read some blogs where writers are confused about this population of people who call themselves writers, but never produce anything at all. I don’t understand it, but I have indeed seen it happen. Why though? No idea.

 

Here’s the meat : the only person who can really judge you is you, and maybe some holy other, if you believe in he / she / it / them (subject for another day perhaps). Example : back in April of 2010 I decided I was gonna start doing a poem a day. I stuck with it for a month, then slacked-off for 2 weeks, but instead of just calling it quits because I stumbled a couple of days, I GOT BACK ON THAT BIATCH AND RODE HER LIKE A PROM QUEEN. It’s 2013 now and I have over 700 craptacular poems filed away in documents called “Flow like whatever the fuck you are.” 700. Yep. And they aaaaaalllll suck. Well, ok to be fair if you write THAT much, a couple HAVE to be good, which is sort of the point of that exercise. Tonight I started my 2013 version of “Flow like whatever the fuck you are.” If I’d stopped back in 2010 because I missed a couple of weeks, I’d have about 40. 

 

Own it. Whether the song started a few seconds ago or is about to end, get naked and wiggle those dangly bits for a few minutes, then sit down, turn off facebook and wordpress and kick that document in its stupid face. 

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yay. Fireworks.

  1. 700 !!!! Shame on you, Ben. You’re giving slacker-writers a bad name. How are we supposed to get away with complaining about how hard it is to write, the struggle, the pain of producing each word, if you’re gonna produce that sort of volume and make it look easy? Tsk, tsk.

Howl

