We’re all fools

Today I made an April Fool’s facebook post about calling it quits when it comes to publication and writing. While most of the people who know me figured it out pretty fast, I always say that at least some small fraction of a joke is true.

The part that’s true here is that I do get a shit ton of rejections, possibly because my writing sucks, possibly because it’s just not right for wherever I’m submitting, or a combination of both. Whatever the reason, it happens a lot and can sometimes be a blow to the ego, and to some I look like a fool because I keep chasing that roadrunner.

In spite of that, I keep trying, not because that’s what writers do, or because it’s what artists do, because it’s what HUMANS do.

In the back of our minds where we don’t like to look, we all know we’re gonna die, and all our money, fame, power, etc. will go away when that happens. Depressing, ain’t it? Yet we create art and language, study science, manufacture magnificent buildings and cities, and in general pursue the elusive “happiness.” Sure, maybe we’ll leave a legacy and influence other people, or have kids as a sort of genetic and cultural record that we were here, but that starts to beg questions like, “why are we here?”

But I digress. The point is that we press onward in the face of defeat. It may be elitist to say “the people who aren’t serious drop-out,” but it’s true. The process sucks, but it’s a crucible that purifies those who survive.

That or we’re all fools for not lying down and accepting defeat. If those are my choices, I’ll take standing up and looking like an idiot.

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Howl

