The (not actually) dreaded conference

Gotten a couple of questions about this and I felt stupid that I never gave actual details on it : The DFW Writers’ Conference – http://dfwcon.org/ Check it out.

Last year I was like “why do I need to rub elbows with other writers, agents, etc.? That just seems sleazy. Shouldn’t writing be about WRITING? I can use that time to actually WRITE instead of TALKING ABOUT writing.” Plus it was expensive and blah blah blah excuses.

Then I talked to my buddy Jennifer, who’s a published author (plug to Jennifer August – http://jenniferaugust.com/ ) who told me that DFW is a good one to get my feet wet, and that it’s probably one of the best for the money. So, not being poor, I signed up and decided to go.

That was possibly the best decision I’ve ever made in my writing career.

Yeah, I still feel sleazy hobnobbing with agents and such, because I STILL believe that writing should be about writing, not who you know, but what’s important is that I saw the playing field with more clarity than I ever have. I met other writers, some from different parts of the country. I met people who only aspire to write. I took classes and came out feeling really good knowing that I was already doing 90% of the things they told me to do. Most importantly, I met my crit group there.

And seriously, if it all was a setup for this year’s con, it was worth it. I’m going in FEELING more prepared, more confident, and with my head more in the game now that I’ve caught a glimpse of it. Not that I was lacking confidence before, but now it’s like I’ve stacked another mountain on Everest. And if I get knocked down, I have a year to build yet another mountain on top of that one.

I won’t say “all serious writers should go to a conference,” ( I will say “all serious writers should find a crit group and take it seriously” ) but I highly recommend it. Maybe not DFW, but SOME conference.

And if you’re coming to DFW, ping me and I’ll hook you into the gang I know from last year, and my crit group, not because I’m into networking, but because they’re seriously fucking cool people. Oh, and they’re writers too.

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The (not actually) dreaded conference

  1. Note to Ben’s self – carry a copy of your MS to said conference. Oh and when someone asks for the first five pages or so, skip to page ten and hand that to them…

Howl

