The Triumphant Return

I survived the conference, mostly, and came out with pages of notes, a pile of new friends, massive sleep deprivation, ideas exploding out of my head, and more confidence in my writing than I’ve ever had. My exhaustion was so pervasive that even after lots of sleep, naps, and more sleep THE NEXT DAY, I’m still tired. All that is a good thing in my book.

There’s no way I can cram everything I learned into one post, nor would I want to, so I’ll probably have to split it up into multiple successive posts. 

I’ll start with this though : not to sound like a magical crystal hippie or anything, but there is something to being around hundreds of creative types in an enclosed area for a few days. With all that artistic energy arcing through the room, you can’t help but pick up stray bits of it. If for no other reason, that made going to the conference worth it. Even some of my friends who didn’t have great responses from agents came out with that “I HAVE TO WRITE ALL THIS DOWN OR IT’S GONNA BLOW UP MY HEAD” look in their eyes. One of my fellow crit group members woke up at 4 AM and couldn’t get back to sleep because of all the plots running through her head.

It’s a fountain, maybe a geyser, and if you go with the right mindset… well, all I can say is hold on tight!

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Howl

