Long Live the Reclusive Writer

One of the many things I learned a lot about at the DFW Writers’ Conference was social media  and how important an author’s internet presence is. Agents talked about basically putting a writer’s project on hold until they got their internet media presence together and active.

On the other side of this is me, who is enthralled by the “old days” of being a writer, when it was a dude with a typewriter who did their thing without having to worry about waving the minutia of their life around like a flag for everyone. BUT THAT AGE HAS PASSED, and I realize this, which is why I have this blog, and a Twitter account, and I set up an author page on Facebook, etc. 

I’ve talked about this before, that I don’t like blogging because I feel like it’s “talking about writing” instead of actually writing, and how there are people out there who will blog endlessly before they even begin a project. Sounds silly, but it happens. Can’t help the way I feel, and the way I feel is that the writing is of primary importance, and social media is secondary at best. If I slack on updating, just imagine that I’m off creating some astounding and magical work (which actually IS true, sometimes).

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Long Live the Reclusive Writer

  1. Tex Thompson says:

    Dude. Totally. Sometimes I kick and scream about it. A lot of times I get so depressed about all my unanswered emails / comments / texts / etc. that I want to haul off and hurt somebody. (I hate that guilt SO much.) But at the end of the day I usually think, “No, goddammit, I am an AMAZING writer, and I will NOT get beat out by some schmoe with a higher Internet Score.” Then I smear some dirt under my eyes, log on to the Tweet Zone, upload to my Face Space, and get back in the game.

    Also, if you talk about writing, usually the only people who will be interested are other writers. It’s okay to talk about other stuff you’re doing or are interested in. I for one would be interested in having more material to tease you with. I can only get so much mileage out of the Denton thing!

    • benjamininn says:

      TEX! Ok, thanks for the inspiration – I’m not a big fan of talking about myself, but maybe I should make a post about why I carry 3 broken watches at all times…

  2. Hehe, love Tex! ^ And I totally agree with both of you. I feel this way too sometimes, Ben. Nothing wrong with starting out slow or taking the occasional break. The people who say to get a web presence in place before you begin writing are idiots, IMO. It is important in today’s publishing world, but nothing is or will ever be more important than actually writing.

    Also, blogging about writing isn’t the best way to go, as Tex mentioned. It’s an easy trap to fall into (and most of us do so at least occasionally), but ideally you want to be blogging about things that your “target readers” want to read about — not writing. The idea is to find your fans before you ever put out your book.

  3. Ben, just make shit up, post it and see if people like it. It’s well, sorta like writing. Yeah, I despise social media too and more often than not my acerbic wit gets mistranslated and someone’s digital panties get all bunched up in their data stream, but whatever. Be yourself, be what you write (most importantly of all) and hopefully the audience follows.

Howl

