Maybe that thing is only stopping you because you want it to

There’s a lot of construction going on around my building, and they’ve left these low white “thingies” made of plastic to close the area. They’re useful to stop people who don’t know any better (kids, college students) and people who aren’t paying attention (college students who are texting) from walking into a construction area – most times they’re in place to protect and notify the general population that they don’t need to be there.

 

Today there were a bunch of guys in construction hats gathering in said construction area, discussing something. There was no heavy machinery, and the fence was in my way, so I stepped over it and started walking across.

“Excuse me sir, you can’t do that.” 

As I was almost halfway across, I said, “Ok, I won’t.” In my defense, I realize that I’m a dick and that was a dick response. Ok that’s not really a defense. 

“Sir, this is a construction area.” None of them were moving to stop me with other than language, which is good because being the non-violent pansy that I am, I’m not sure what I would’ve done if they had.

“Yep!” 

At that point they gave up, either because they realized I was just walking across or they figured it wasn’t worth the effort. 

When I was stepping over the barrier on the other side, I thought, “Maybe fences only stop us because we want them to, because we LET them.” Granted, if there had been a giant crane moving stuff or something else going on, I wouldn’t have done that.

Anyhow, the point, as I’m sure you’ve surmised so far, is that while boundaries (social, physical, mental, or otherwise) often exist for our own protection, sometimes we need to jump them so we can get beaned in the head with a tree branch or attacked by a mutant capybara so that we can learn WHY they’re there. BUT, sometimes there are fantastic treasures on the other side, like… the building you work in. Man, now I feel like a sucker.

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Howl

