Swimmin’ with the bettas.

The other night at Write Club, I was editing the manuscript alongside Laurie when she asked what I was doing.

Me : Editing. Duh.
Her : Well stop, I don’t want to have to go back and re-edit things you’ve changed.

This was my first sign that we were mere hours from being done. The previous week, I’d put the finishing touches on all my rewrites that were in the works, so without anything else to do, I went into editing mode.

Then Stinky tells me to stop, because she has a point – whatever I “fix” she’s gonna have to go over again and it’ll never end. So I stepped away and let it go. Instead of hammering away at the damn thing in every spare minute I had, it was rather nice to sit and read for a while. I managed to finish Dan Hammond’s “Delbert Judd,” which is a work of complete genius if you’re looking for a good read. Took the time to arrange a few beta readers, which was yet another sign that we were almost there.

Sunday night Stinky and I went over the few remaining points… and I twiddled my thumbs while gnashing my teeth in anticipation. Monday night we argued over one last finishing touch, and then at about 2:23 AM Tuesday morning, she uploaded the finished document.

So it’s on to the betas to rip through 88k and find the broken bits. I think last night at crit group and the ensuing Afterparty, there was a great weight missing from our shoulders, or at least mine.

So booya. Done. At least for now. We’ll know more in a couple weeks, and I’ll likely say more then.

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Art, China, Fiction, Writing, wuxia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Howl

