Return of the Betas

Haven’t updated in a while, been taking a break while the betas were slogging through our work. Now, however, everything is back and Laurie is going through the beta crits and making the changes she sees fit. I drafted a super-short transitional scene last night, but mostly I’ve been working on other stuff, reading, and generally on vacation from the novel.

You might be wondering, “where is she in all this? Why don’t we ever hear from her?” Well, as I said a couple posts ago, she’s the editor and adviser – it’s her job to handle the edits, organize everything, and call me out / explain when I break with the culture. Right now it’s her show. Sure, she mails me when she has a question (“what’s your vision of Zaihai Quan?” and then a short discussion ensues), but for the most part she’s driving the bus at this point.

Why you never hear from her probably has to do with the fact that she’s not big on social media yet, and she’s often heavy into school and edits. If / when she gets a writing blog going, I’ll let her address this (or not).

I’m sure everyone is dying to hear how the beta went. Without revealing too much, I’ll say it went extremely well. I’m hoping to hit “send” next week, which is later than I’d wanted, but it’s gonna be DONE.

Ship’s about to leave shore. The last passengers are boarding now…

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in collaboration, Fiction, wuxia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Howl

