He lives! (kind of) and some notes about MR

I’m not dead, I just haven’t gotten around to posting in a while. My endurance is better than my stamina, I promise.

That being said, I didn’t want to make a series of posts that said little more than “here’s a post,” or some permutation of “I bought pants!” so consider yourselves spared from a certain amount of unimportant minutia. Now for some semi-important non-minutia :

Everyone’s asking if we’ve heard back on the novel yet. The best answer I can give is that it’s not really good form to discuss details in public before anything’s been finalized. Being somewhat of a walking train wreck who randomly fucks things up, this is one thing I’d rather do right by not saying anything, and if that means shutting up (for once), that’s what I’m doing.

Also, the publishing business doesn’t move quickly (unless you’re into self-publishing, but that’s not the route we’ve chosen, and is a discussion for another time), so we don’t expect any real responses this year. That doesn’t mean, however, that I’m just gonna not post until then (yes it does, don’t lie). I’ve got a lot to talk about, just not a lot of gumption to share it with the general public, or the time. So to keep this from being a “filler” post, I’ll talk a bit about Magical Realism.

Indeed, it’s a blurry line between fantasy, folklore, and magical realism, and everyone seems to have their own opinions of where the line actually is. My friend and crit buddy Sam once described Magical Realism by saying it’s like fantasy without all the world-building and explained magic systems. In that regard it’s a lot like a folk story, where things happen and people just sort of accept that’s how it is in that reality. Annie the Badass said it’s a story where everything is normal except one thing that’s totally fantastic, and whether anyone bats an eye at that thing is irrelevant. I tend to ride more with Sam’s idea – that it’s more like a dream, where nothing’s really explained, it just happens.

If you’ve read some of my work, you know I have a sort of fascination with sleep and dreaming, which manifests in my world as my Magical Realism stories, and why they don’t always make a lot of rational sense. The Imagination Bomb is ultimately about a guy *becoming* another dimension. Good Guys Wear Black is about other types of time and a person turning into the thing they always were.

Before I get to rambly, I’ll cut to the point – most of what I write is magical realism because it A) leaves it to the reader to determine the details about the magic system and world B) when the emphasis isn’t on the nifty world or magic, the focus tends to become either the characters or the arc, and C) I get a lot of inspiration from my really really weird dreams.

So next time I’ll let you guys in on what I’m currently writing, and maybe some plans for the future.

Also, I bought pants.

About benjamininn

About myself are papers, lots of tea, computer monitors, a stapler, pens, an ancient phone, more tea, some paperclips, and a lot of air.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Howl

